About Us

(Nicole recognized for 15 years of dedicated service. Picture from left: ERSWM Compliance Officer Kevin O’Handley, Gary Cleary MoDG Deputy CAO, Councillor Donnie MacDonald, Nicole, Deputy Warden Jackie Dort, Councillor Jack MacPherson, Warden Vernon Pitts (Chairman), missing Sheila)

The mission of the Eastern Region Solid Waste Management Committee is to work cooperatively with our municipal partners, the government of Nova Scotia, Divert NS, and other related organizations towards achieving provincial disposal goals and other responsibilities stated in the Environment Act and Environmental Goals and Sustainable Prosperities Act as they relate to solid waste-resource management in a manner that is responsible to the municipal tax payer.

There are five municipal Councillors on the Committee, one from each municipality in Antigonish and Guysborough counties.

Eastern Region Solid Waste Management Committee
151 Waste Management Rd, Hwy 16
P.O. Box 111, Boylston, NS
B0H 1G0
Contact: Nicole Haverkort
Regional Solid Waste Reduction Coordinator/Educator
Phone: 902-870-2817
Toll Free: 1-888-377-9622
Fax: 902-533-4909

Contact: Kevin O’Handley
Compliance Officer
Phone: 902-232-2563
Committee Members
Warden Vernon Pitts, Chair
District of Guysborough
Councillor Beulah Malloy
District of St. Mary’s
Councillor Donnie MacDonald
Municipality of the County of Antigonish
Councillor Diane Roberts
Town of Antigonish
Councillor Tanya Snow-Keeling
Town of Mulgrave